Rise Above

Why haven’t I heard this song sooner?

Katy Perry’s new song “Rise” will be my new theme song. Ok, I have a lot of theme songs and “life anthems” but this is just rising beyond the rest, no pun intended. After another emotionally draining, back and forth cat-fighting day with He Who Shall Not Be Named (quite fitting indeed) and quite literally being called pathetic for my way of dealing with things, this is the song I have to listen to. “I must stay conscious through the madness and chaos.” Just have a read:

I won’t just conform
No matter how you shake my core
‘Cause my roots—they run deep, oh

Oh, ye of so little faith
Don’t doubt it, don’t doubt it
Victory is in my veins
I know it, I know it
And I will not negotiate
I’ll fight it, I’ll fight it
I will transform

Profound! Can I take over the world now? For sure! Ok well not really but you know what I mean. It’s like she is speaking to me directly at this moment. I need to remember that I can be victorious. I don’t need to conform to the standards certain people want me to have. I can transform myself, my mindset, my life. Thank you Katy.

AfterthoughtI get inspired by music a lot. So there will be many more blogs regarding how music influences me. The sound, the beat, the lyrics. Everything speaks to me. Sometimes I struggle to communicate my tons and tons of feelings over verbally and the only thing that helps is music. Oh and chocolate. It’ helped Harry Potter didn’t it?

Harry Potter chocolate eating

 

Leave a Reply

